Home > Events > Meetings > Sovereign Debt Roundtable, New York 2002

Sovereign Debt Roundtable, New York 2002

May 1, 2002

Columbia University   New York, New York, United States

Agenda  160kb pdf

On May 1st 2002, a group of prominent economists, lawyers, financial market players, and members of the international community met for a roundtable discussion to analyze alternative approaches to sovereign debt restructuring. The meeting was hosted by the Initiative for Policy Dialogue (IPD) at Columbia University, and chaired by the Honorable Paul Martin, Canadian Minister of Finance and Chair of the G7.


The IPD meeting was based on the premise that to evaluate alternative frameworks it is important to fully understand the underlying micro incentives of the groups involved. The goal of the meeting was to set up a framework to analyze the strengths and weaknesses of the proposals, and determine which are feasible in the short and medium term and which are consistent with models of economic behavior.

  • Lewis Alexander
    Task Force Member
    Managing Director
    Salomon Smith Barney
  • Erik Berglof
    Task Force Member
    Chief Economist
    European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Amer Bisat
    Task Force Member
    Portfolio Manager
    Traxis Partners
  • Patrick Bolton
    Task Force Member
    Barbara and David Zalaznick Professor of Business
    Columbia University Business School
  • Jack Boorman
    Task Force Member
    Advisor to the Managing Director
  • Howard Brown
    Task Force Member
    General Director
    Department of Finance, Canada
  • Michael Dooley
    Task Force Member
    Professor of Economics
    University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Richard Gitlin
    Task Force Member
    Bingham Dana
  • Daniel Gleizer
    Task Force Member
    Deputy Governor
    Central Bank of Brazil
  • Bruce Greenwald
    Task Force Member
    Columbia University Graduate School of Business
  • Sean Hagan
    Task Force Member
    Professor from Practice
    Georgetown Law School
    Georgetown University
  • Jim Haley
    Task Force Member
    Senior Fellow
  • Peter Kenen
    Task Force Member
    Professor of Economics and International Finance
    Princeton University
  • Jeffrey Sachs
    Task Force Member
    Director, Earth Institute
    Columbia University
  • Brian Schumacher
    Task Force Member
    Deputy Consul General
    Canadian Consulate General
  • Mark J Siegel
    Task Force Member
    Managing Director
    DL Babson and Co. Mass Mutual
  • Joseph Stiglitz
    Task Force Chair
    Initiative for Policy Dialogue (IPD)
  • Eli Whitney Debevoise
    Task Force Member
    Arnold & Porter